Tanzania is a country situated in East Africa and the country is bordered by Kenya, Uganda, Burundi, Rwanda, Republic of Congo, Mozambique, Malawi and Zambia. The capital of the country is Dodoma. Tanzania is a country that consists of 26 regions which includes Zanzibar; the autonomous region. Tanzania is the oldest inhabited country in the world. Evidence of human settlements dated back to 2 million years has been found in the country. Bantu speaking population migrated to the region about 2,000 years back. Later, Nilotic people migrated to the country. After World War I the region became British Mandate and the country got independence in the year 1961.


Tanzania has a Presidential republican government in which the President is the head of the state and head of the government. Executive power is vested on the government and legislative power is exercised both parliament and government. The judiciary system is independent from legislative and executive powers. Tanzanian economy is mainly depends agriculture. Tanzania has abundance of natural resources such as diamonds, iron, nickel, uranium, platinum and coal. The industry of Tanzania is limited to the processing of consumer goods and agricultural products. Tanzania is famous for Tanzanite, a kind of gemstone.


The total population of Tanzania is more than 38 million and distribution of the population is uneven. About 80% of the population is living in rural areas. About 120 African ethnic groups are living in Tanzania from which the largest groups are Nyamwezi and Sukuma that have Bantu origin. The population also consists of people from Pakistani, Indian and Arab origins along with Chinese and European communities. About 62% of Tanzanian population are Christians, 35% are Muslims and other indigenous groups. Swahili and English are considered as the official languages of Tanzania. Other spoken languages of the country are Portuguese and Indian languages such as Gujarati.


Tanzania is famous for its natural attractions. Serengeti National Park is famous for its annual migration of wildebeest. Mount Kilimanjaro is another famous natural attraction of Tanzania which is also the highest mountain of Africa. Mt. Kilimanjaro is a dormant volcano with two peaks such as Mawezi and Kibo are surrounded by thick forests consists of a variety of plants and animals.  Ngorongoro conservation area is a protected area that extends from Lake Natron to Lake Enyasi and Lake Manyara. Ol-Ndoinyo Lengai is an active volcano situated in this area. Ngorongoro Crater is the largest unflooded and unbroken volcanic caldera in the world.


Olduavi Gorge is a historical canyon which stretches to 50km and the depth of the canyon is 100 meters situated in Ngorongoro Crater area. This is the site where three various homind fossil species were found. The tourists can also visit the ancient findings here which also include the remains of giant giraffe. Selous National Game Reserve which is named after a big hunter, naturalist and explorer Frederick Courtney Selous is the largest game reserve of Africa. Some of the other tourist attractions of Tanzania are Mahale Mountains, Katavi National Park and Mahale Mountains.