HQ Travel GuideCaribbeanDominican Republic

Dominican Republic is the part of the archipelago 'Greater Antilles' in Caribbean. Santo Domingo is the capital of the country. Spain ruled Dominican Republic for three centuries with the intervention of French and Haiti and the country became independent in 1821. But the island was overpowered by Haiti. In the year 1844, the country became independent after the victorious Dominican War of Independence. The first inhabitants of the island are Tainos and the more aggressive Caribs replaced them. Several offshore islands and islets are the part of Dominican Republic. Thirty one provinces are there in the country and the provinces are subdivided in to municipalities.


The island is a democratic republic consists of three branches such as legislative, executive and judicial powers. The population of the country is more than 9 million which makes it the second largest populated island in the Caribbean. In terms of area also Dominican Republic is the second largest of Caribbean. About 73% of the population are multiracial, white are of 16% and 11% of the people are blacks. Among them 15% are Dominicans with Taino ancestry and other groups are West Asians, East Asians, German Jews, Portuguese, Dutch, Danes, Hungarians, Italians, British and Spanish.


The most populous city of the island is the Santo Domingo with a population of over three million. Other major cities of the country are San Pedro de Marcoris, La Romana, Santiago de los Caballeros, La Vega, Puerto Plata and San Francisco de Macoris. Among the people, 95.2% are Christians which includes Roman Catholic and Protestant. Other religions are Buddhist, Islam, Judaism, Bahai and Spiritist.  The official language of the country is Spanish as most of the people speak Spanish language. Secondary language of the island is English. Samana English is used by 8,000 people of Samana Peninsula. French is also used as the spoken language.


The economy of the country depends on sugar production, telecommunications and tourism. Tourism plays a major role in the economic growth of Dominican Republic. Cathedral of Santa Maria is a major tourist attraction situated in Santo Domingo is a beautiful mixture of Renaissance and Gothic elements in its architecture. Colonial City is a historical enclave with historical sites which includes museums, forts, palaces, monuments, statues, plazas and parks. Other major attractions of Santo Domingo are Columbus Light Monument, National Aquarium, Plaza de la Cultura, Los Tres Ojos National Park and Boca Chica.


Amber Museum situated at Puerto Plata is a Victorian building has a collection of Dominican amber which is valuable. Mount Isabel de Torres, Brugal Rum Factory and Fuerte San Felipe are the other attraction of Puerto Plata. Samana Peninsula is located in the Amber Coast where you can find calm waters, deserted beaches and palm forests. Punta Cana has several tourist attractions such as Manati Park, dolphins, sea lions and a replica of ancient Taino village. Cofresi is a beautiful resort town in the Amber Coast with private villas and hotels for accommodation. Cabarate is a seaside town which is famous for activities like kite surfing and windsurfing.