Namibia Travel Guide

Namibia, or known as the Republic of Namibia, is the biggest country in South Africa. Its border countries are Angola, Botswana, Zambia, and Zimbabwe. Namibia is a state member of the United Nations (UN) and the Commonwealth of Nations. Namibia has the second least population in the whole world. The economy of Namibia focuses on agriculture, tourism, mining, and herding.

Namibia is the 34th largest country in the whole world. Its geography reaches up to 825, 418 square kilometers or 318,696 square miles. With this region being the second least populated in the whole world, they are only occupying a space of 2.5 residents per square kilometer or 6.5 residents per square miles.

Namibia has 13 regions namely Caprivi, Erongo, Hardap, Karas, Kavango, Khomas, Kunene, Ohangwena, Omaheke, Omusati, Oshana, Oshikoto, and Otjozondjupa. Namibia is also subdivided into 107 constituents. Each constituent’s size depends on the population of each region they belong to. The constituent with the highest population is the Walvis Bay Urban which is found in the Erongo region, and the constituent with the lowest population is the Walvis Bay Rural, which is also found in the Erongo region. The 13 regions is subdivided in the following number of constituents: Caprivi – 6, Erongo – 7, Hardap – 6, Karas – 6, Kavango – 9, Khomas – 10, Kunene – 6, Ohangwena – 11, Omaheke – 7, Omusati – 12, Oshana – 10, Oshikoto – 10, and Otjozondjupa – 7 constituents.

Namibia travel is known to boast of its great landscapes. The great landscapes in Namibia are found in its geographical areas which have abiotic conditions. This allows their vegetation to grow abundantly. The geographical areas in Namibia are the Kalahari Desert, the Central Plateau, the Bushveld, the Namib Desert, and the Great Escarpment.

The population of Namibia has reached up to 2.2 million. Some of the people live in the urban areas of the country, while many of them still live in their own villages and farms. The higher percentage of the population in Namibia is found in the northern part of the country. The Namibia people are divided into 11 ethnicities having different traditions and heritages. The 11 ethnic groups in Namibia are Owambo, Kavango, Herero, Himba, Damara, Nama, Topnaars, Rehoboth Basters, Coloureds, Caprivians, Bushmen, Tsawanas, and Whites. For people who do not want to get involved in the confusion of these ethnic groups, they often refer to themselves as Namibians. The Namibian people also have different religions but majority of them are Lutheran. Other religions observed are Jewish, Roman Catholic, Mormon, Methodist, Episcopal, and Anglican. The Namibian people use English as their official language, but other language are also used and considered as regional languages. Some of the regional languages are German, Afrikaans, and Oshiwambo.

If you are planning for a Namibia travel, you may think about Namibian visa and other needed requirements. The good news is, if you are a US citizen, a Namibian tourist visa is not required. You can stay in the country for a maximum of 90 days. But of course, if you want a Namibia travel vacation, you need to provide yourself a passport which is valid for 6 months. Your passport should also have enough pages where stamps will be placed upon entry and exit on the country. You will also need a valid ticket for your return.

Related posts